Intel HD 620 Review – Graphics of 7th Gen Intel Core U CPUs


Intel HD 620 Graphics

Intel HD 620 Specifications - GPU-ZThe Intel HD 620 is an integrated graphics processor. It is used in the widely adopted 7th Generation Intel Core “Kaby Lake” laptop processor family. Currently the most popular CPU with the Intel HD 620 is the mid-range 7th Gen Core i5-7200U, which we used for this review. The tested i5-7200U / HD 620-based Lenovo IdeaPad 310 laptop also includes 8GB of RAM in dual-channel mode (4GB x 2), and a 1-Terabyte 5,400rpm hard drive with Windows 10 Home operating system and Intel HD drivers (ver. 21.20.16.4550) installed on it. Please note that gaming performance of laptops with the HD 620 and single-channel RAM (like 8GB x 1 instead of 4GB x 2) will be noticeably lower than presented in this review. Also, different processor models like the 7th Gen Intel Core i3-7100U, i5-7200U and i7-7500U, different thermal designs of notebooks, BIOS settings, and other factor can influence performance of the Intel HD 620 and other integrated graphics processors. But generally, not as much as dual- or single-channel RAM factor.

Intel HD 620 Gameplay Benchmarks

With specifications of the 7th Gen Intel i5-7200U with HD 620 graphics being very similar to specs of the previous-generation i5-6200U / HD 520, the latest CPU / GPU chip doesn’t bring any significant performance boost over its precursor. In a greater scheme of things, the 620 is obviously a low-end graphics solution. It’s however capable of rendering many of the most popular game titles quite decently as you will see in the rest of this review.

Note: All gameplays in the videos below were recorded with separate video capture hardware, so recording didn’t influence shown performance.

 

In League of Legends you can max out all graphics settings on Full HD 1920×1080 resolution and still get flawless gameplay rendering with frame rates of around 75 fps, even in busy scenes. Therefore, the Intel HD 620 is an excellent solution for LoL.

 

DOTA 2 is a similar, but more hardware-demanding MMORPG game title. You’ll have excellent frame rates if you use a low resolution like 1280-by-720 pixels and low (“Fastest”) settings – mostly between 60 and 80 fps. Optionally, you can increase detail settings a notch and still have playable DOTA 2. Our test with that settings shows fps values of around 25 – 35. The good news is that increasing resolution to Full HD 1920×1080 while keeping everything else the same only slightly decreases smoothness.

 

The Intel HD 620 appears to be a no-brainer GPU choice for Minecraft. Frame rates were above 100 fps most of the time on high (“Fancy”) video settings with default render distance of 12 chunks.

 

Counter Strike: Global Offensive is among the most popular first person shooter games. It isn’t computing intensive by modern AAA game standards. The Intel HD 620 graphics can crunch it easily on 1280×720 pixels and medium or high settings, with around 65 and 55 fps respectively during most scenes. Or, you can put it for instance on 1920×1080 pixels and medium settings for about 45 fps most of the time.

 

Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare first person shooter taxes hardware heavier than the games listed above. It’s playable on the Intel HD 620. If you put CoD: AW on minimal detail settings and 720p resolution you’ll get 30 – 60 fps, depending on a scene.

 

The ubiquitous Grand Theft Auto – GTA 5 is an overly heavy task for the Intel HD 620. With resolution set to 720p, DirectX setting on DX11, and the rest of graphics settings on minimum, frame rates in the built-in GTA 5 benchmark go between 20 and 25 fps with occasional drops below 20 fps. Overall, a choppy gaming experience. In this GTA 5 case, Choosing DirectX 10 instead of 11 only reduces graphics quality without improving rendering smoothness.

 

FIFA 2017 on the Intel HD 620 isn’t good either, but the game is playable on the lowest settings and 1280×720. During active parts of football actions which are the main part of the game, frame rates are around 30 fps. In scenes such as goal celebrations and replays, frame rates occasionally drop to only 10 fps.

 

The old but still very popular Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim runs flawlessly on 1280×720 / lowest settings, with fps of around 60. Increasing settings a step noticeably degrades smoothness, with a drop to around 35 fps. On 1920×1080 pixels and lowest settings, fps values mostly gravitate toward 40-45.

You can click on the "Reviews" tab above to submit your opinion and ask questions regarding the graphics processor.

GPU Name

Intel HD 620 Graphics

GPU Type

Integrated graphics

Shaders

24 unified

ROPs / TMUs

8 / 16

Core Clock Speed

300 – 1,000 MHz on i3 and i5 CPUs / 300 – 1,050 MHz on i7 CPUs

Memory Bus Width

128-bit, 64-bit

Video Memory Size

Shared main memory, depends on system

Memory Type

DDR3 or DDR4 shared

Video Memory Clock Speed

Depends on system

Production Technology

14-nanometer

3D Mark 11 (Performance Mode) Score

1700 (dual-channel)

2 reviews for Intel HD 620 Review – Graphics of 7th Gen Intel Core U CPUs

  1. 3 out of 5

    nihha – October 6, 2017:

    nope unacceptable lol


  2. Tan Pham – September 27, 2017:

    I just bought a brand new Probook 450 G4 with these specs :

    Core i5 7200U
    Intel HD 620
    Ram 4GB
    SSD 256GB M.2
    Win 10

    I have extremely lag issue in any setting. Please help me. Sorry for my bad English


    • Danijel Z – September 27, 2017:

      That model has two memory slots. Adding another memory module would make your memory dual-channel, which can noticeably improve frame rates in games. Also, you should check whether you have the latest Intel HD graphics drivers installed. But still, Intel HD 620 is just a basic graphics processor and it’s not intended for playing the latest demanding games.


  3. hack5 – August 24, 2017:

    Hi im not a heavy gamer but i would like to get a Lenovo laptop 17 inch screen that could at least play classic ps2 or ps3 jrpgs on emulators what cpu/gpu would you recommend i was leaning towards i5 7200 intel graphics hd 620 is that good enough


    • Danijel Z – August 24, 2017:

      Hi, i’m not a PS-on-PC gamer, but what I’ve found online is that many of the PS2 games will run on the HD 620 nicely. Info on PS2 and PS3 emulator performance on the Intel HD 620 is nowhere to be found, but I’ve found multiple videos by searching “Pcsx2 Intel HD” and “Pcsx3 Intel HD” on YouTube. They show the emulated PS2 games can run nicely on the older Intel HD GPUs like the 4400 series, and therefore will run on the latest HD 620 too, with better fps. The PS3 emulator seems to lag on the Intel HD GPUs in the available videos, so I assume you’ll need a dedicated video card for it to run properly. In general, if gaming is your main concern, you should get a laptop with a dedicated video card.


      • 5 out of 5

        hack5 – August 24, 2017:

        Thank you for your reply,what laptop do you suggest? I prefer Lenovo 17 inch laptops but i wish to have one that is not expensive since im from Trinidad the conversion is already high not mentioning shipping charges


        • Danijel Z – August 25, 2017:

          Well, laptops with a dedicated video card are usually pricey. The cheapest among them usually have the Nvidia GeForce 940M / 940MX video card (which is a lower-mid-range one), but I haven’t found any Lenovo 17″ model with it. Laptops with the 940M / MX can be found for around $600 and up. If you want a real and cheap gaming laptop with much better video card, the best choice currently seems to be the Dell Inspiron i5577-5328BLK-PUS 15.6″ with 1920×1080 Full HD display, Intel Core i5-7300HQ CPU, and Nvidia GeForce GTX 1050 4GB video card. It’s $739 on Amazon: http://laptoping.com/specs/buy/3209/


        • hack5 – August 25, 2017:

          Thanks again will look it up


  4. Mary – August 20, 2017:

    I have the real question, I am looking for a computer with gaming capabilities but don’t have 900+ to spend. I see desktops and laptops that are around $500 to $700. I see that it either has a decent graphics card(like GeForce 1050) and an amd processor or an i5 or i7 processor with a lesser graphics card(LIKE THE 620 or GeForce 940mx). In your opinion is it better to go for a better processor, get a desktop and maybe switch out to a better graphics card later on?


    • Mary – August 20, 2017:

      Sorry I wrote a general question not real question


      • Danijel Z – August 20, 2017:

        The question is good and my answer is below. If you have further questions, feel free to ask. Regards.


    • Danijel Z – August 20, 2017:

      Hi, if you assume you’ll need a better video card (and processor) in the future, a desktop PC with a discrete video card and a non-soldered processor is a better option. 99% of laptop models nowadays have video cards and processors soldered onto the motherboards, without upgrade possibility. So the only realistic upgrade options on laptops are larger / faster RAM and storage devices, which aren’t too important for gaming.

      A second option which seems to be good is to get a good deal on a laptop with an Intel quad-core CPU and a solid GPU like the Nvidia 1050. This deal for instance:
      Dell Inspiron i5577-5328BLK-PUS gaming laptop; 15.6″ 1920×1080 Full HD display; Intel Core i5-7300HQ CPU (quad-core); Nvidia GeForce GTX 1050 4GB video card; 8GB RAM; 1TB HDD; no DVD; Windows 10 Home; $739.99
      http://laptoping.com/specs/buy/3209/

      The quad-core i5 CPU in this laptop is much better than the regular dual-core i5 chips and the 1050 has got great reviews.


  5. Melluu – April 13, 2017:

    Hey, i own an asus laptop, with 4gb of soldered onto the motherboard, with two free slots for additional ram-sticks. If i were to put in another stick, of, lets say, 8gb of ram, would this then be dual channel?


    • Danijel Z – April 13, 2017:

      Yes, your RAM would then be dual channel. But, as a side note, I think Asus laptops with 4GB of soldered RAM usually have only one additional slot, not two. Regardless of that, with 4GB of onboard RAM plus a standard RAM module you will have dual channel memory.


  6. Lynn Wilhelm – March 23, 2017:

    Thanks for this review.
    I did have a question about this “The tested i5-7200U / HD 620-based Lenovo IdeaPad 310 laptop also includes 8GB of RAM in dual-channel mode (4GB x 2)”.
    I’m looking at an IdeaPad that seems similar, same CPU and GPU and storage. It has 8GB RAM DDR4 and I’m trying to figure out if it has more than one “channel”. I tried to find an answer at the Lenovo site (can’t find the same config) and similar configurations describe the memory like this: 8.0GB DDR4 2133 MHz (4GB onboard and 1 X 4GB DIMM). I’m trying to find out if that’s related to what you were trying to say.
    This seems like a good, budget setup for my teen, she plays Star Stable and Minecraft and I think it will do the job fine.


    • Danijel Z – March 23, 2017:

      “8.0GB DDR4 2133 MHz (4GB onboard and 1 X 4GB DIMM)” means 4GB RAM is soldered onto the motherboard and additionally there’s a standard RAM slot which is populated with a 4GB RAM stick for a total of 8GB. So, this RAM setup means memory is dual channel.

      Anyway, even with single channel RAM, Star Stable and Minecraft should work decently good. These are not too demanding games, specs-wise.


Add a review or ask question / give answer:


Rating:

4.00 out of 5
(2 customer reviews)